About that getting around to write a coherent post that I outlined, is topical, and features nothing about working out… well I didn’t write it.

Reader @1lilchuc1 says

@MrMichaelMahn PR in SQ and DL today. 255x5x3 each. Hoping for a blog shoutout. #fingerscrossed. Most of my followers follow you. #heyguys!!

Slow down He-Man.

Dated Dec. 24 @1lilchuc1 says

@MrMichaelMahn Started last week w 135-squat and 225-DL. Gonna add 10lbs each workout. I should hit failure in ~4weeks

So in 16 days you reached the same workout weight as me in squats? I hate you.

Do you want to take over admin rights to this blog and I’ll just tweet at you?

This served as motivation for me to wake up from my evening nap and go to the gym to squat 260 3×5. Word to the wise- bojangles for lunch has zero nutrition and will give you no energy for a workout. Also it will make you LOOK and FEEL flabby in the gym.

Normally I would rationalize someone lifting the same weight as me in such a short time frame by thinking ‘it’s ok he has short limbs’ or ‘don’t worry, as a percent of total body weight I am stronger’. BUT NO- you probably weigh less than me AND have longer limbs. I hate you.

/really just need a hug.

Also pressed 145 3×3. Romanian dead lifts at 145 3×5. Pullups with a 25lb dumbbell.

That tweet from reader @1lilchuc1 was the best gym motivation since the squatland yard days.

The post that I wanted to write yesterday was going to compare the aristocratic class portrayed in the British TV series Downton Abbey (season one is set right after the Titanic Sunk) and the attitudes of wall street bankers in modern day New York. But I didn’t feel like getting on a soap box to discuss a soap opera.

Besides- that show probably is bullshit regarding how the wealthy would act. I think the moral of what I wanted to say is that if you are upper class then it’s ok for you to show some class.

I don’t segue well.

I need to get in the habit of repeating people’s names upon meeting them. When you say “Hi, I’m (blank)” I should not tune you out and wait for my turn to speak. Instead I should say “Hi, (repeat your name back to you, my name is Michael”. TWICE today I ran into someone I either know or have met and did not know their names. Luckily I texted a friend to say “hey you know (blah)’s friend?” and they knew who I was talking about. But other times I have gone way past the threshhold of time you are allowed to say “I’m sorry, what was your name again?”

At the Four Seasons hotel employees are expected to repeat guest’s names three times when greeting them. Example would be “Good morning, Mr. Mahn. How has your stay been Mr. Mahn? If there is anything you need do not hesitate yo ask, my name is (blank), have a good day, Mr. Mahn”. This would be over the top but damn if I would forget people’s names again.

What I’m trying to say is- if I meet you at a party and you say my name and I say “whats up guy?” then you should just tell me your name because I will never ask.

OR… I will say “how are you doing THOMAS” OR “JANE!!!” OR “WILFRED!” AND YOU WILL KNOW THAT I WANT YOU TO KNOW THAT I DO IN FACT KNOW YOUR NAME.

